Skip to main content

Main Header

Important Notifications

2022 Scholarship Recipients - Press Release

September 22, 2022

WSECU Announces 2022 Scholarship Recipients

WSECU Announces 2022 Scholarship Recipients

Sept. 22, 2022 (Olympia, Wash.) – WSECU awarded $100,000 in college scholarships to 38 credit union members pursuing higher education.
WSECU has been committed to helping members reach their educational goals by awarding college scholarships for more than three decades. Recipients are selected by a committee comprised of fellow credit union members and employees. The selection process is based on an evaluation of several criteria including academic record, financial need, community involvement and a written essay.
“These students are a picture of tenacity as they continue to pursue higher education despite years of ongoing challenges at a global scale,” said Ann Flannigan, Vice President of Public Relations. “We’re so proud of these members for continuing to go after their dreams and consider ourselves lucky that we can support them.”
A total of 24 students who will attend a four-year or post-graduate institution this fall received a $3,000 scholarship. This year’s recipients are:

  • Adam Escamilla, (Washington State University)
  • Allison Lenssen, (Montana State University)
  • Amanda Sides, (University of Washington-Tacoma Campus)
  • Benjamin Veith, (Whitworth University)
  • Elizabeth Barbuto, (George Fox University)
  • Finian Ghalleger, (The Evergreen State College)
  • Gavin Giesbrecht, (George Fox University)
  • Isabelle Silvernail, (Central Washington University)
  • Kamaile Paikuli, (Olivet Nazarene University)
  • Kristina Mullukatte, (Oregon State University)
  • LaRee Nelson, (Clark College)
  • Lauryn Daniels, (University of Washington-Seattle Campus)
  • Lindy Muttel, (The Evergreen State College)
  • Marcella Taylor, (The Evergreen State College)
  • Miriam Al-Saedy, (Washington State University)
  • Molly Crabbe, (Life Pacific University)
  • Nam Nguyen, (Johns Hopkins University)
  • Nora Zander, (Washington State University)
  • Payton Odom, (University of Southern California)
  • Sadie Lenssen, (Eastern Washington University)
  • Steinar Goheen, (Washington State University)
  • Taylor Namchek, (University of Idaho)
  • Zoe Filan, (Patrick Henry College)

The credit union also granted 14 scholarships to students in two-year community colleges or vocational programs. The $2,000 scholarship recipients for the 2022-2023 academic year are:

  • Andrew Neal, (Spokane Falls Community College)
  • Camie Sprenger, (Tacoma Community College)
  • Elizabeth Abbott, (Pierce College-Puyallup)
  • Emily Cowdrey, (North Idaho College)
  • Jacob Race, (South Puget Sound Community College)
  • Jeremy Davidson, (Bellingham Technical College)
  • Kary Sathre, (Centralia College)
  • Rasool Ray, (Spokane Falls Community College)
  • Ray Caldwell, (South Puget Sound Community College)
  • Sam Roush, (Treasure Valley Community College)
  • Yelena Avila-Hernandez, (Pierce College District)

Please note, some names withheld at student request.

Your perspective is important to us and helps us see where we’re hitting the mark and where there might be areas to improve.