Skip to main content

Main Header

Important Notifications

2019 Scholarship Recipients - Press Release

July 22, 2019

WSECU Announces 2019 Scholarship Recipients

July 22, 2019 (Olympia, Wash.) – WSECU has awarded $65,000 in college scholarships to 29 credit union members pursuing higher education.

For more than three decades, WSECU has been committed to helping members reach their educational goals by awarding college scholarships. Recipients are selected by a committee comprised of fellow credit union members and employees. The selection process is based on an evaluation of several criteria including academic record, financial need, community involvement and a written essay.

“We understand the financial challenges associated with pursuing a college degree, and we would never want this to limit any of our members’ potential,” said Ann Flannigan, vice president of public relations. “We are proud to award WSECU scholarships to these 29 members as they work towards accomplishing their goals.”

A total of 21 students who will attend a four-year or post-graduate institution this fall received a $2,500 scholarship. This year’s recipients are:

  • Aaron Su (University of Washington)
  • Andrea Litzenberger (Brigham Young University)
  • Brianna Lawrence (National Paralegal College)
  • Cori-Ann Morioka-Kam (Saint Martin’s University)
  • Dana Arenz (University of Washington School of Medicine)
  • Daniel Miller (Gonzaga University)
  • Ened Mcnett (Oregon State University Carlson College of Veterinary Medicine)
  • Isabel Schmidt (Columbia University)
  • Julia Holder (Whitworth University)
  • Kaitlyn Granstrom (Northwest Christian University)
  • Kiva Loor (New York University Tandon School of Engineering)
  • Matthew Jenkins (Johns Hopkins University)
  • Neah Ortman (University of Washington)
  • Rachel Bechtel (Carroll College)
  • Ruby Breitsprecher (University of Idaho)
  • Sajid Amin (Yale University)
  • Sarah Olden (Colorado School of Mines)
  • Sarah Olson (Western Washington University)
  • Sean Syth (Central Washington University)
  • Tayma Vanek (Southern Virginia University)
  • Vivika Sweiven Crawford (Western Washington University)

The credit union also granted eight scholarships to students in two-year community colleges or vocational programs. The $1,500 scholarship recipients for the 2019-20 academic year are:

  • Abigail Palmen (South Puget Sound Community College)
  • Kary Sathre (Pierce College Veterinary Technology Program)
  • Kim Krenik (South Puget Sound Community College)
  • Levi Sathre (Centralia College)
  • Mattilyn Ekerson (Grays Harbor College)
  • Stacy Lewis (South Puget Sound Community College)
  • Tailor Albright (Portland Community College Rock Creek)
  • Tessa Smith (Centralia College)

WSECU is an Olympia-based, not-for-profit credit union open to all Washington residents with a special emphasis on serving those who embrace the values of giving, sharing and supporting their communities. WSECU has 260,000 members, 21 branches, and $3 billion in assets. It commits 4 percent of its annual net income to invest back into the communities it serves through partnerships with education and other nonprofit institutions.

Your perspective is important to us and helps us see where we’re hitting the mark and where there might be areas to improve.